You’ll be in a load of Barney…Rubble…TROUBLE!

Don Cheadle (hint: he dropped this BLOG’s title in Ocean’s Eleven) was one of the many celebs playing in the AT&T. I think this tournament is very telling of the HUGE, I’m talking Grand Canyon, gap between amateurs and PGA Tour Pros. This takes me back to my “Let me Count the Ways” BLOG where I extol the benefits of Tour Tempo®. This BLOG is a “Let me Count the Differences” BLOG and I think there may be some benefit to you, the reader, and there will be especially some benefit to the celebs to whom I refer. I don’t know if they’re reading, but they should be.

Difference #1: Width – This one is so easy to notice even my wife can tell the difference. Kevin Costner came on and he put a TIN CUP swing on it and my wife was like, “he just uses his arms and they’re so close to his body.” Ah, honey, I’ve taught you well. Wait, I haven’t really taught you that concept. How the hell? Well, I figured it out. She’s always watching me and Tiger and Ernie and Vijay (I’ve got width, no majors, but width). Anyway, when you put K.Costner up against any of these guys it’s like, well it’s like the difference between a straight arm and an arm @ 90 degrees of bend. Anyway, without width, you can’t create great speed and there are a lot of other things you can’t do, but the big one is that when you don’t have width, you look like an amateur. So, Kevin, if you’re reading, please get on the Y and L drills. Dear reader, if this is your problem, then I beg you also to get on these drills. The best way to do the Y and L drills is with the XLR8R® and then move to a ball.

Difference #2: Tempo – Again, so evident that my wife says to me, “his tempo is way too slow.” Ah, honey, I’ve taught you well. Err, I guess you have read Tour Tempo®, so you figured that one out on your own. The amateurs’ tempo is brutally slow, and the ones that are quick are way too quick. So, celebs, I’m down on my knees here: PLEASE buy a Tour Tempo® Player and improve your tempo and thus your game.

Difference #3: Pace of Play – Darn, these are so easy my wife can spot all of them. I need to come up with something good. Anyhow, most amateurs are dreadfully slow because they are taking way too many practice swings and then have way too many thoughts running through their brains and this overload is too much on the system, much the way your computer runs slowly when you’ve got too many applications open at once. Remedy: QUIT thinking, get up and hit it! The problem is that when they do this, it’s still bad, so get the XLR8R® and Tour Tempo® and now QUIT thinking, get up and hit it! Ahh, much better!

Difference #4: Do I really need to keep going? Ok, #4: No Speed. Amateurs have so little clubhead speed, they’re playing a par 80. Conversely, Tiger is ALWAYS playing a par 68 because there are no par 5’s for the great one. On the other hand, if you only hit it 240 yards, then most par 4’s are extremely long and you can’t reach any par 5’s. So, Mr. Movie Star, get some speed!! Get on my program!! Again, I’m down on my knees because I want you to taste the sweet nectar of the gods, I want you to feel the power. “Come to the dark side! If you only knew the power of the dark side!”

Difference #5: This is the last one because I need to stop somewhere…No Short Game. The amateurs’ short games are non-existent and because of this most of them cannot break 90. Remedy: Get the Tour Tempo® Player and work on your short game tempo and technique so that you can eliminate double bogey from your game. This is one key to scoring. Eliminate doubles. If you do this alone, you’re breaking 90. Mix in some pars and you’re breaking 80. Add some speed and you’re in the mid 70’s!!

Ok, a few more. Swing Plane: Chris Berman is on the “zero” plane swing meaning his plane is in line with his hips. The Y drill would pay huge dividends for Chris and stop him from going “Back, Back, Back” too far to the inside. Balance: Again, huge gap between the greats and not so greats especially on the shorter clubs. If you’re less than 175 yards to the green, there is no reason not to be in great balance at the finish of your swing.

So, to all of you celebs, go to TourTempo.com and find out what you need to do to really improve your game! I want you to enjoy golf like you never knew you could. I know, I know, your excuse is you work too much, too much time in front of the camera or on NFL Today. Well, that’s the beauty of the Tour Tempo®/XLR8R® system: 15-20 minutes a day, 3x a week and you’ll truly improve!! Again, don’t take my word for it, go to our testimonials page: http://www.tourtempo.com/emails.html

More great BLOG’s are in the pipeline, including the ultimate golf math equation, updates on my training, & the introduction of the Tour Tempo® VIP Golf Schools.

Leave a comment